Sol24.net logo

last update
16:20 UTC
SFI: 68 | Ap index:  27  | Kp index:  3  ( 0 @16:45,  0 @19:45)| X-ray flux:  A0.7 
SW: Density= 2.9 p/cm3 | Speed= 424.2 km/s | Temp=28(x1000)K
IMF: Bx=2.9nT | By=-7.7nT | Bz= 1.5 nT | Bt= 8.4 nT | Lat= 10.5 ° | Lon=290.5°
Sunspots: 0 | Area: 0 10-6/Hemi | New regions: 0
[i]X-ray flares: C=0 M=0 X=0 | Optical flares: M1=0 M2=0 M3=0 | Sub-flares=0
IRIS is a NASA Small Explorer Mission to observe the characteristics of solar material as it moves through the little-understood interface region between the sun's photosphere and corona that powers the sun's million-degree atmosphere and drives the solar wind.

IRIS was air-launched on an Orbital Sciences Corporation Pegasus rocket.


After some extensive tests the new mobile page is now active. It has a very light design and its overal size is less than 7KB which allows very fast load times on any type of device and mobile connection. The data compiler was also updated and now allows for much faster X-ray flux updates. The indices colour coding was also optimized sidewide and now includes a visual indication in the event of extreme levels.

A new feature on both the mobile and desktop pages is the storm statuses. It shows the current geomagnetic and radiation storm levels as well as the radio blackout level caused by significant x-ray events.


The ACE spacecraft detected an interplanetary shockwave generated by a slow moving coronal mass ejection on June 24th. A G1 geomagnetic storm is expected to start in the next 12 hours. The storm duration is estimated at 24 to 48 hours.


Live coverage of the IRIS launch will begin at 6 p.m. PDT / 9 p.m. EDT on June 27 (1 a.m UTC on June 28th).

UPDATE: Vandenberg Air Force Base officials have determined that due to a significant power outage on the base earlier this week, certain Western Range facilities will not be ready to support the scheduled launch of Orbital's Pegasus rocket, carrying NASA's IRIS observatory on Wed. June 26. Another assessment of the situation will occur at the Launch Readiness Review, now scheduled for Wednesday, June 26. The range officials believe they will be able to restore power to the affected facilities in time to support a launch Thursday, June 27 at 10:27 p.m. EDT (02:27 a.m. UTC June 28).

There will be live TV coverage of the L-1011 departure, as well as the deployment of the Pegasus XL from the L-1011 carrier aircraft. Spacecraft separation from the Pegasus vehicle occurs 13 minutes after launch.

The shock front from the coronal mass ejection generated by the sunspot region 1777's M2.9 flare has just passed the ACE spacecraft. The wave will hit Earth's magnetosphere in approximately 60 to 80 minutes, according to the last solar wind speed measurements.


Go to page  1 2 3 ... 10 [11] 12
Render: 0.0324s, 0.0041 for queries.

Powered by a penguin
Protected by a devil